If my connection fails, do I lose data that I'm editing?

FAQs - Cloud

Platform_KC
Cloud

This depends on the module you're using:

  • Contribute: Nothing will be lost. Even if you're part way through creating/editing a topic, if the connection fails it will just reconnect and recover your session once the connection is restored. However, if you close your browser you will lose all unsaved work, such as changes to the current single open topic or changes to the table of contents of a book.
  • Author: If the connection loss is intermittent it will usually recover, but if longer than a minute the RDP session is removed by the server, and all unsaved work is lost, such as changes to the current single open topic or changes to the table of contents of a book. The Author enables each user to set an auto save time for the system to automatically and periodically save the content.
  • Review: Nothing will be lost because all suggestions and comments are saved instantly.