DITA topic templates


Topic types represent the fundamental structuring layer for DITA topic-oriented content.

The four information types (topic, concept, task, and reference) represent the primary content categories used within technical documentation and new topic templates have been created enabling authors to create content based on the DITA methodology:

  • DITA Concept

  • DITA Task

  • DITA Reference

  • DITA Topic

These templates can either be applied to existing topics, or used to create new topics.

Each topic includes boilerplate text to assist the author and to provide consistency and adhere to the DITA style. Authors can double-click to select the line in the boilerplate text, then overtype with their own content.