A book object represents the content and structure of a document. This section describes working with book objects. For a description of the buttons see Book Contents Toolbar.
The book Contents pane has several states. The following descriptions are based on how you would see the book when you opened it:
Books open in a locked state (the closed padlock is displayed). You can view the contents but topics and other objects in the book's structure cannot be moved or deleted. So long as no one is currently editing the book (or the book is in read-only mode) you can work with its contents.
- Click the closed padlock button to enable editing.
In Edit mode you can change the book's structure by, for example, adding or removing topics, moving topics to a new location, or adding or removing an Index or Table of Contents. In edit mode, the editing buttons on the book contents toolbar are available.
Only one user can have the book in Edit mode at any time. If anyone else opens the book, they will see the message that the book is currently in use (the book is locked and displays the current user's name next to the book title). When you are finished editing the book, take it out of Edit mode to make it available for other users.
- Click the open padlock button to take the book out of Edit mode.
The book is in the locked state when another user has put the book into Edit mode. The name of the user is displayed next to the book title. You can view the book's content pane, but topics and other objects in the book's structure cannot be moved or deleted. The refresh button is available while the book is locked, so you continue checking the book's status and find out when it becomes available again for all users.
Books open in a read-only state if you do not have permissions to modify the content. The read-only message is displayed next to the book title. You can view the book's structure but you cannot make any changes, (for example, adding, deleting, or moving any of the objects). Again, only the refresh button is available so you can view changes made by other users.