Delete files - Cloud

Files on Author-it Cloud

This topic describes options for deleting files from a folder, deleting files from the Deleted Files folder, and restoring files from the Deleted Files folder.

Features of the Delete function:

  • You can delete files permanently from both your personal folders and from the shared company folders - check the Permanent deletion option in the confirmation message.
  • You can move files to a Deleted folder but still have the option of restoring them - leave the Permanent deletion option unchecked in the confirmation message.
  • The Delete action is accessed from the right-click menu or from the File drop-down menu.

To delete files:

  1. Select the file that you want to delete, or select multiple files by holding CTRL while selecting the files.
  2. Right-click and choose Delete from the shortcut menu.
  3. In the confirmation window choose how the files are handled:
    • Permanently delete the file: check the Permanent deletion option. After deletion these files cannot be recovered.
    • Move the files to the Deleted folder: do not check the Permanent deletion option. The files are moved to the Deleted Files folder.
  4. Choose OK to complete the action. The deleted files are removed from the folder list.

To Delete Files from the Deleted Files Folder:

  1. Display the contents of the Deleted Files folder.
  2. Right-click the selected file and choose Delete from the shortcut menu.

    Important: The file is permanently deleted from Files and cannot be recovered.

To Restore Files from the Deleted Files Folder:

  1. Display the contents of the Deleted Files folder.
  2. Right-click the selected file and choose Restore from the shortcut menu. The file is returned to its original folder.