When you publish to Magellan Author-it copies the Magellan engine to the output folder.
The Magellan Engine contains everything required to make the site work. Do not change anything in the Magellan Engine. Any changes that you make will be overwritten during the next publish. Any changes that you make in the source files will be overwritten during the next upgrade.
Do all customizing as explained in the following paragraphs.