Each time you save changes to any object, Author records who made the changes and when the changes were made. This information can be used to find objects, and provides you with a complete audit trail of changes.
Certain events also create history records, enabling you to view, compare, and revert to previous revisions of an object.
There are essentially two steps to working with Edit History:
- Setting the Save Points that will trigger a history record. This is done using the Author-it Administrator.
- Selecting Show History to view, compare, and revert to previous revisions.
Because each history record must be stored somewhere, this will impact on the size of your library. There are a number of settings and features to archive history from the database. Again, these are defined in Author-it Administrator.
A history record works as a "snapshot" of the object before the changes took place. You can view the history compared to the current revision, to a previous revision, or any two revisions to each other. You can also revert to a previous revision provided the history record is available.
There are two types of events that determine when a history record is created:
- System events which are triggered automatically on indirect actions that cause an object to be modified. These events include:
- History Revert - saves a revision when an object reverts to a previous history
- XML Import - saves a revision when an object is changed by setting properties using XML:
- by localization update
- by importing a translation job
- by importing an XML file
- Import from another Library - saves a revision when an object is changed by being overwritten during an import from another library
- User events which are triggered by the optional Save Points as defined in Author-it Administrator. Choose from:
- Object Close - saves a revision when an object is closed and has been modified.
- Change of Release State - saves a revision when an object has its Release State modified
- Change of Author - saves a revision when an object is modified and the author is not the last author who modified it
- Change of Template - saves a revision when an object is modified and the template it is based on is changed
- Publish - saves a revision when an object is published and the last modified record doesn't have an XML history attached
Note: All user events are optional and are turned off by default.